Easy and Cheap 5-Frame Nuc Assembly

As mentioned in our initial equipment post, a real cheap way to get started it so spend $12 on plywood and $20 or so on frames and build yourself some 5-frame nucs.  Here is a video going over the assembly of the “Easy 5-frame Nuc”.  Thanks to “D Cotes” on the besource.com forums for posting the plans.  I’ll add the cutout design by Mike Tuggle under this video later:

Cut-out plans.  If possible, have the store that you buy the plywood cut it into 22″ pieces.  If you do that you’ll have 4 pieces that are 22″ each and then a strip that is about 6″ x 48″ left over as shown below.

I use a table saw to make the cuts.  So I set my fence at 9″ and run my 4 pieces through to get my 4 tops.  Then set the fence at 8 1/2″ and cut out the 4 bottoms, then 10 1/4″ for the sides and so on.  After I’ve got all the widths cut I come back and trim them to the correct lengths and I’m done.  You should be able to do it in about 30 minutes or so.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cheapbeekeeping

I'm a geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Easy and Cheap 5-Frame Nuc Assembly

  1. Pingback: Copy Box Swarm Trap | Cheap Beekeeping

  2. markn says:

    Your site is very good! I’m determined to start beekeeping this year and your dyi projects are encouraging considering the high cost of purchasing equipment and bees.

  3. steven says:

    Thanks 4 the help. Keep make more videos.

  4. Alyssa says:

    Thanks for the layout! I couldn’t find what thickness of plywood to use, maybe I missed it in the video? Thanks!

  5. Sevenmile says:

    Thanks for posting this project – I am not a DYI person, but I actually successfully completed several boxes!

  6. Oskar says:

    I want to try this. What are the dimensions of the end cap pieces exactly? It’s a bit small to read. 6.5″x 2″?

    (The front and back look like 7.5″x9.5″ to me.)

    Thank you!

  7. Pingback: Easy and Cheap 5-Frame Nuc Assembly – Sandra's DIY Projects

Leave a Reply

